Skip to main content

The Kay Detrick Owen Scholarship Fund was established in 2007 by The ARC Manor Foundation to support the education of students who plan to major in, or are currently studying for a degree in, the social services.


A social or human service professional is a generic term for people who hold professional and paraprofessional jobs in diverse settings such as group homes, halfway houses, community mental health centers, programs concerned with drugs/alcohol, domestic violence, aging, correctional programs, programs for people with intellectual disabilities, social workers, and probation/parole officials.

Scholarship Details

Available to High School Seniors and Adult Students

One or two scholarships will be awarded annually for post-secondary education in the social services, especially related to providing service to clients struggling with drug or alcohol addiction. Preference will be given to Armstrong County residents. One scholarship is for a high school senior. One scholarship is for an adult or non-traditional student.

This scholarship is two nonrenewable gifts of $600 each.

The eligible applicant will:

  • Be accepted by, or currently enrolled at, an accredited college, university, or other post-secondary institution in the United States.
  • (If applicant is a high school senior) enroll with a major in a social/human services field. Preference will be given to a student pursuing a degree in the drug & alcohol field.
  • (If applicant is NOT a high school senior) be enrolled in a bachelor’s or post-graduate degree program in the drug & alcohol field.

All applicants must complete the scholarship application and complete the following essay question.

Essay Question

On one page, please answer the following: Describe why you want to work in the human services field. Do you have any specific areas of interest/concentration? If so, why?

Apply Now

Past Recipients

  • 2008-09 Jennifer Lynn Holcomb (High School Senior)
  • 2008-09 Sheila M. Knell (Adult)
  • 2009-10 Samantha Artman (High School Senior)
  • 2010-11 Brianna Garretson (Adult)
  • 2010-11 Theresa Cook (High School Senior)
  • 2011-12 Sarah Pritt (High School Senior)
  • 2012-13 Marcy Keibler (Adult)
  • 2012-13 Breanna Kanish (High School Senior)
  • 2013-14 Erica Alcibiade (Adult)
  • 2013-14 Amy Wright (High School Senior)
  • 2014-15 Hailey Bigley (High School Senior)
  • 2015-16 Michaela Polka (Adult)
  • 2016-17 Emily Knell (High School Senior)
  • 2016-17 Rachel Stirling (Adult)
  • 2017-18 Taylor Hawkins
  • 2018-19 Taylor Hawkins (Adult)
  • 2019-20 Olivia Wasilko (High School Senior)
  • 2019-20 Caitlyn Davis (Adult)