Skip to main content

Zane Michael McMillen tragically lost his life in an automobile accident at the age of 19.

Zane was a 2012 graduate of Kittanning High School. His future plan was to serve his country in the military. Zane was very active and enjoyed a lot of activities that included hunting, guns and target shooting, going to the gym, riding dirt bikes, watching movies, wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, the great outdoors, and playing video games. He loved hanging out with his friends and quoting lines from his favorite movies.  Everyone who had the pleasure to know Zane would agree that he was always smiling and making people laugh.  Zane often changed his mind about his career before settling on his goal of joining the military, but always, he was focused on public service so he could give back to the community that made him who he was.

Scholarship Details

Available to Adult Students

This is a $500 non-renewable scholarship.

The Zane McMillen Memorial Scholarship was established in 2015 in order to memorialize Zane’s life.  This scholarship is for adult students who are previous graduates of Armstrong School District, who are accepted to or enrolled in post-secondary education (an accredited college, university, or other post-secondary institution), and who are pursuing a career in any field involved with public service.  The scholarship shall be awarded annually (amount will vary), and is non-renewable.

All applicants must complete the Scholarship Application and complete the following essay question.

Essay Question

Please attach a 1-page essay on how you can benefit others by your choice of career field (must be a field relating to public service).  Also, describe your need for the scholarship due to financial hardship.

The applicant will:

  • Be an adult student who has previously graduated from Armstrong School District.
  • Be pursuing a career relating to public service.
  • Show financial hardship.
  • Be accepted for admission to, or enrolled in, an accredited college, university or other post-secondary institution.

Apply Now

Past Recipients

  • 2016-17 Brandon Petras
  • 2017-18 Madison Walker
  • 2018-19 Ashton Callipare
  • 2019-20 Ava Bosco