Skip to main content

Dr. The Samuel R. Black, Twila L. Black, and Samuel J. Black Medical Arts Scholarship

The Dr. Samuel R. Black, Twila L. Black, and Samuel J. Black Medical Arts Scholarship Fund was established to honor the life and work of Dr. Samuel R. Black. The scholarship is available to graduates of Armstrong County High Schools including Lenape Vo-tech who wish to pursue a career in the Medical Arts. The scholarship criteria includes students who are interested in veterinary medicine.

Scholarship Details

  • Available to High School Seniors or Adults Students
  • Nonrenewable
  • Approximately $5,725 available, which may be split into multiple awards
  • Applicant must:
    • Be a resident of Armstrong County
    • Be majoring in the medical arts at an accredited two or four year college, university, nursing school, medical school, vocational school, or veterinary school in the United States
    • If enrolled in a four year medical education program, applicant must be enrolled as a medical arts major

All applicants must complete the online scholarship application, including his/her response to the following essay question.

Essay Question

One understands that many careers in the medical arts can be lucrative, but one also knows that other professions can be just as financially rewarding—if not more so. Additionally, other professions can be achieved more quickly, without as many financial and academic demands, and without the enormous time constraints almost always necessitated by a career in the medical arts. So, why medicine, an arena that constantly refuses to be run according to a schedule and that exposes one to frustration and to reality in its most terrible and absolute forms? What is it that has engaged your interest and your dedication to a career in medicine? You are encouraged to share examples of a time or of times in your life that have resulted in your determination to enter the world of medicine. Using one page, please be as specific as possible.


Past Recipients

  • 2006-07 Jason David Long
  • 2007-08 Ashley Lennox
  • 2008-09 Sarah Boarts & Brianna DiVivo
  • 2009-10 Lucas Heller & Jenna Micsky
  • 2010-11 Lee Sasala & Kaitlyn Heginbotham
  • 2011-12 Andrew Gaiser
  • 2012-13 Emily Mitchell
  • 2013-14 Nicholas Turco
  • 2014-15 Christopher Ignatz
  • 2015-16 Neil Turco
  • 2016-17 Amy Wright
  • 2017-18 Kristen Miskinis & Jessica Myschisin
  • 2018-19 Brodey Cowan & Emily Cornman
  • 2019-20 Emily Cornman & Dominick Cicala
  • 2020-21 Emily Cornman, Gram Hepner & Noelle Lemons
  • 2021-22 Emily Cornman, Taylor Relich & Jensen Stolitza 
  • 2022-23 Emily Cornman, Kristen Miskinis & Melody Trudgen