Skip to main content

The Armstrong County Building & Loan Association has been serving Armstrong County and the surrounding counties with quality service and a friendly smile since 1925.  As a community savings and loan, ACBLA takes pride in supporting and giving back to its local community of Armstrong County. 

ACBLA is primarily a mortgage lender offering all savings, certificates of deposit, individual retirement accounts as well as debit cards.

Scholarship Details

Available to High School Seniors

The ACBLA Scholarship is a renewable award, and will be awarded for four years provided that the student remains in good academic standing.

$1,000 will be awarded per year, for a total of $4,000 over a four year period

The applicant must:

  • be a senior at a school in the Armstrong School District of at Lenape Vo-Tech
  • be accepted at an accredited college, university or community college (does not need to be in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania)

For the scholarship to be renewed for the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year, the student must submit their most current transcripts to the Community Foundation, showing their cumulative GPAs.  They must meet the following:

Freshman year: 2.5+
Sophomore year: 2.8+
Junior year: 3.0+

All applicants must complete the scholarship application as well as the following essay question.

Essay Question

Write a personal statement of no more than one page discussing your academic achievements, career aspirations, personal goals, your perception of your abilities, financial need and other comments relevant to your application.

Past Recipients

  • 2019-2022
    • Sydney Spang
  • 2018-2021
    • Mariah Kephart
    • Lakien Porter
  • 2017-2020
    • Madeline Baillie
    • Jared Croyle
    • Anna Longwell
    • Melody Trudgen
  • 2016-2019
    • Mya Gladysiewski
    • Jacob Bowman
  • 2015-2018
    • Miranda Lasher
    • Austin Porter
  • 2014-2017
    • Ryan Myers
    • Eric Hulings
  • 2013-2016
    • Holly Dill
  • 2012-2015
    • Ryan Toy
  • 2011-2014
    • Kolby Relich